We're not going to agree, I promise you. Not everyone will ever agree on anything. Hell, three people can't agree what to order on a pizza. Throw politics, religion, or race into the mix, and the world can turn into a shit-storm. (I just got spell-checked on shitstorm.) It has to be okay to disagree.
This guy called for the extermination of white people on C_SPAN. I didn't hear, see , or read anything about it on the news. It's not even that big a deal to me. It's not even worth getting mad about. This was before Imus, too. Of course, whites neither have nor need an Al Sharpton to drum up publicity over verbal slights against caucasians. Such comments are generally perceived as ignorant - like Imus. No one is crying out for this guy's blood, nor should they. Most of the comments about it are "Wow. That's dumb." This guy, though, he has to think about it for a second.
That's all it takes. You don't have to pass a law that makes it illegal to say stupid shit. People are going to be stupid. Stupid people will say stupid things. You can't make it illegal, or everyone would go to jail.
I know, this bill focuses on speech related to violence. That can't be a bad thing, right? Except that violence is already illegal. There was a case in the Dallas Morning News a year or so ago, involving high-school kids. Two guys did such horrifying things to another boy that I won't get into specifics, but the big story was not how two human beings could do that to another, it was about how they called the kid a 'spic' while they did it. The papers all said that that made it racially motivated crime, though it was also reported that the victim had somehow disrespected the sister of one of the assailants. I have a sister. Disrespecting my sister might earn someone a solid beating, and possibly some name-calling, but what these kids did... They were sick, and everyone was concerned about what they said to the guy? That's sick. Violence is already illegal. Speech is just words.
The people most concerned about the passage of H.R. 1592 seem to be christians, due to the fact that they teach that homosexuality is wrong. Homosexuality is actually pretty gross. What someone does in the privacy of their own bedroom is their business, but that doesn't mean anyone has to like it. It has to be okay not to like gay people. I've heard of gay-bashing, and it's wrong to go around beating people up, regardless of the reason. Besides, a lot of them are in pretty good shape. They're not gay because they're scared.
People need to toughen up, I think. What happened to sticks and stones? When I hear someone say something dumb like that I tell them how dumb it is, and why. I don't call the cops.
While still on the topic of race, I would like to point out, on behalf of white people everywhere, that George Bush is not white. George Bush is some kind of reptilian alien bent on the destruction of the earth, and does not in any way represent whites as a whole. We're actually pretty cool, once you get to know us.
Thursday, April 26, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment