Tuesday, April 17, 2007

This is going to piss some people off...

Virginia Tech. If you're an emotional person, stop reading now, so we can still be friends tomorrow.

In the Great State of Virginia, the only gun control law is the Second Amendment. There was a gun ban at the Virginia Tech campus. Thirty-two people died because only one person had a gun, and he was doing all the killing. Cops are useless until someone has already died. Cops do not save lives, they catch killers after the fact. You know what would have saved about twenty-nine of those thirty-two people? One other person with a gun handy. I hate to quote a bumper sticker, but I'm going to anyway: When guns are outlawed, only outlaws have guns.

I do feel bad for the loved ones of the dead and wounded. It was a tragedy, to be certain. I also feel bad for all the other people who died of gunshot wounds yesterday in the rest of the world for no good reason. And those who were stabbed, and beaten to death, and poisoned, and strangled, and blown up, and pushed out of windows, cut open, drowned, burned, run over, tortured, beheaded, hanged, irradiated...

No comments: